Holding out

I recently turned down serious candidacy for my first serious job offer. Salaried. Health benefits. Not to mention working with people who would have made me feel like I was back at my lovely alma mater’s music department. I turned this down. Turned it down in order to do what? To substitute teach and work at Friendly’s.

Here’s the best part: I’m not complaining and I don’t regret it!

Over the summer my Mom, sister, and I met up with our cousin David in the city for dinner. As I told him about my disappointment with my job prospects, he said to not be afraid to hold out for something I really wanted. Don’t settle, he said.

I appreciated that so much! Especially coming from a MARRIED family member in the WORKFORCE performing a job with MEANING living INDEPENDENTLY from his parents (for some time now, but still) hoping to have CHILDREN. In other words, someone in my family who wasn’t elbowing me to get on with my life and all of these aforementioned things. (Okay. No one’s pressuring me to get married or start a family. But behind every “Isn’t it time to start looking for a real job?” is an unspoken reminder that all these milestones are years away for me, whereas for my parents and even some of my classmates they happened or are happening “on schedule.” And my jobs, for the record, are quite real. I’m not imagining going in to teach 20 9-year olds every week. And once I start waitressing, I’m probably not going to be imagining physically shaking from the high stress environment either.)

And to clarify, I didn’t turn the job down so I could instead teach and waitress. That’s not quite the way I would put it. First, I already had those latter jobs. Second but most important, I didn’t want the job. It was an administrative job, something I would have done very well, but something that had little to do with music and quite simply wasn’t a career goal of mine.

“But it was a job! You could have moved out, and to a new region!” some might say.

To gain what? Don’t get me wrong, the job itself was a wonderful opportunity. Just not for me. I’d rather wait until I can get my teacher certification in October 2013, in the meantime working, learning new skill sets, composing, maybe entering some craft fairs, baking, planning a dream trip to Europe. You know, all those things that would make me happy even if I’m not working at my ideal job yet!

One comment

  1. I wish paragraph 5 moved up earlier in your comment. I was worried that you were trying to convince yourself. One thing to also keep in mind on your search is negotiating for your pay. The pay you start with will be directly related to how much you will earn over your working lifetime. So, in other words, if you start at an administrative salary, and you will likely never see a salary that will allow you to have a home of your own – ever. And if you treat your interim jobs as “real” jobs, you are likely to learn more and do better at them than others. That attitude may set you apart from others and launch you to the next phase (of many) of life. Best of luck. C. Jill

Leave a Reply

