It’s a new year!

2012 was my zenith year. I feel like everything I was doing from 2006 until 2012 (my coming of age years) was leading to my finishing my education. So now that 2012 is over, I feel like 2013 is, well, a non-year.

At least, it felt that way for a while. Looking forward to 2013 was strange. Perhaps it had to do with 13 being a quirky number, seemingly “non-year”-ish, a year I couldn’t really image existing because 2012 seemed like such a great number to both see and say.

But now that 2012 has passed, 2013 seems like another chapter of my life. This is it. This is the year I do things. Get a job. Move out. Explore my academic interests on my own terms. Travel. Go to shows, concerts, museums, join a choir, write a bunch of music, maybe learn a new language. This is the year!

You know how George Costanza had the Summer of George? Well, this is the Year of Sarah. It’s time for some changes, both in my lifestyle and in my attitudes.

For example, it’s time for me to quit worrying about people what other people think of me. Plain and simple. Be myself- all the time!

And it’s time for me to be more proactive in molding my career. Lately, I’ve thought about the idea of self-employment. Time to research that and make a plan to combine all my passions into one big job!

It’s also time for me to be more confident in my abilities. And teaching, which I’ve been doing and I LOVE, has helped a great deal.

There’s so much to think about! So here’s the final key: take things little by little. Take steps to improve myself every day, even if it’s ten minutes.

And here’s a Karen Lamb quote I just saw on Facebook that seems to sum everything up: “A year from now, you may wish you had started today.”

Leave a Reply

